Hogeschool van Amsterdam

Notes on the regulations for statutory tuition fees

Notes on the regulations for statutory tuition fees


You must have the Dutch nationality, or that of another EU/EEA country, Switzerland or Suriname. Other EU/EEA countries are: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Liechtenstein and the United Kingdom. People with a type II, III or IV residence permit (and in some cases type I), or those whose tuition fees are paid by UAF, are also eligible.

No Prior Degree

In order to qualify for statutory tuition fees, you must not have obtained (since 1 September 1991) a prior degree in the Netherlands of the same level as the programme that you wish to study (Bachelor’s or Master’s degree). 
This does not apply if you enter a study program in the field of education or health care for the first time.

If, for example, you already hold a Dutch higher education degree in health care or education and are enrolling in another degree programme,  you are obliged to pay the institutional tuition fee, regardless of the field of your second degree programme.

Initial Enrolment

You only pay tuition fees for your first programme. If you enrol in two or more programmes, you only pay the highest amount.

Published by  Administration Centre 23 May 2019